top of page
  • Writer's pictureTG AGAPE

Anime That Doesn’t Make My Soul Cringe <3

Updated: Aug 31, 2020

First of all, I want to state my reasons for creating this article and the title... Anime has always been something I have enjoyed! I used to cherish it more deeply and without boundary but I have had several convictions hit me while I watch now, being a follower of Christ.


Since Anime is created out of a different culture it comes from a Buddhist or other background usually - there is a lot of spiritual things that go against God's word (The Bible).. just remember to not be conformed to this world! If you are not a christian and you're confused or offended by what I'm insinuating then I'm sorry but as a christian I simply do not and cannot agree with everything that resides within Anime.


So anyways I created this article in hopes to urge you to be aware of what you are allowing into your heart and provide you with some more wholesome options.


I want to make one thing clear before I list anime recommendations; the anime I list are likely to not be %1000 wholesome because anime tends to slip in some sexual remarks or light cursing. However, I will do my very best to point you to some wholesome anime.


So now I'll get on with the recommendations... ^__^


1) In The Beginning: Bible Stories


In the Beginning: The Bible Stories is an anime television series based on The Bible's Hebrew Scriptures created by Osamu Tezuka. Amazing, biblical, and binge worthy as heck! I highly recommend it!


One awesome thing about this series is that the characters are not pasty white dudes with blue eyes and blonde hair. It is much more historically accurate in the sense that the people have melanin in their skin. Its a detail that should not be left out and I am thankful it was not. <3 Plus there's a cute fox in every episode and I love that!


Where to watch...

  • For Free: YouTube

    • I recommend bookmarking the link so you can watch whenever you want :)


2) Non Non Biyori


Comedy, slice of life about the lives of a group of kids who live in the countryside village of Asahigaoka; school, family, friendship.


I've only seen the first episode so far but I love it and from what I can tell it is probably the most wholesome anime I have ever seen! It's cute and quirky - I love it! Also only available in sub but its worth it even if you usually prefer dub.


WARNING: If you a follower of Christ, skip episodes 4 & 5, you won't miss much in the story... I recommend skipping them because one of them has to do with fortune telling (which is against the bible) and the other has a spiritual thing in it that seems cute but is not and it set my spirit sideways lol. I am not condemning people who practice such things but... those who follow Christ gotta be vigilant and have no forms of idolatry.


Where to watch...


3) A Silent Voice


"This story is about a girl with a hearing disability. She is bullied so harshly that she ends up having to transfer schools. A Silent Voice weaves topics like love, bullying, disability, and friendship to create a story that is unforgettable and kid-friendly." Click here to watch the trailer now


This one is a movie btw! But its amazing and I've probably seen it about 4-5 times :D


Where to watch...


4) Hamtaro


Hamtaro is an incredibly adorable show starring little hamster, Hamtaro and his friends. He has a great relationship with his owner, Laura Haruna, so its about the hamsters but also the owner and her friends. This show is cute and fun! I always loved it as a kid and now I'm rewatching and loving it still, though the dub voice actors could have been better lol.


WARNING: I think episode 2 or 3 they talk about wishing on stars... don't be out here wishing on stars you guys. Pray. Talk to you Heavenly Father who made the stars, not to stars whom cannot help you.


Where to watch...

  • For Free: OneDrive (no need to download just click the episode links and watch through OneDrive)


5) Haikyuu!!


Warning: Light cursing happens in the show


Haikyu!! is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Haruichi Furudate, that was turned into a TV series. The story follows Shōyō Hinata, a boy determined to become a great volleyball player despite his small stature.


Cute show and its nice to see a hard work ethic displayed even though they are kind of mean to each other lol..


Where to watch...


MORE RECOMMENDATIONS COMING SOON... (EMAIL US IF YOU HAVE RECOMMENDATIONS TO ADD)

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page