top of page
  • Writer's pictureTG AGAPE

Best TV Shows to Watch on PureFlix (or Elsewhere)

Updated: Aug 27, 2020

1) The Chosen
















A personal favorite! #BingeJesus #GetUsedToDifferent


"A charismatic fisherman drowning in debt. A troubled woman wrestling with real demons. A kind, gifted young man ostracized by his family and his people for working as a publican. In this ground-breaking first season of The Chosen see how Jesus reaches each of these and more as He works His first miracles and embarks on His ministry to change the world. See Him through the eyes of those who knew Him." Click here to preview the show :D


Even though the show takes some creative liberties, they state at the beginning that its not a word for word representation but they strive to keep it according to the bible, yet encourage viewers to read the gospels for themselves. I love the striving to keep it very historically based, I learned a lot about Jewish culture even just in the first episode, and though I would have hoped for a more brown Jesus, I love that they got someone who isn't the long haired blue eyed false image we see too often. 10/10 recommend!


Where to watch: PureFlix, On their free phone app - The Chosen


2) Vindication


From the first episode I was completely hooked! The first two episodes are particularly awesome because they feature two of my favorite christian actors: Masey McLain & Ben Davies! They were from the first ever christian film I remember seeing - "I'm not ashamed."


"Vindication is a faith-based crime drama that follows the investigative work of Detective Gary Travis." Click here to preview the show


Best christian crime drama I have ever seen!!! Although there are some things I think would have made the story line smoother and the lack of diversity within main characters and characters in general was depressing to me, I loved this show and it was honestly edifying as heck. 9/10 recommend!


Where to watch...

3) Ties that Bind



"Hard-nosed detective Allison McLean is forced to step up when her brother is sent to prison, taking in his two teenage children." Click here to preview the show


Not the most christian show and its like they avoid the topic of faith even though I think it was created by those of the faith, put it is pure. Also, it is just a tad bit corny at certain points. However, I enjoyed this show and it was more wholesome than 99% of all shows you see today and it definitely binge-worthy. A wholesome crime drama, I give it a 6.8/10!


Where to watch...


4) Daughters of Eve



"Meet some of the remarkable women of the Old and New Testament, whose worldwide impact is still felt today." Click here to preview the show


I absolutely loved this show! I felt like I was watching a biblical history channel show, but only way more exciting and somehow beautifully personal. Whether you are a woman or a man, I highly recommend this show! Let's stop forgetting about these awesome women of the bible and dive into their inspirational, beautiful, and meaningful stories. Also, they have a website where they have created group studies materials to go along with the show! 10/10! Click Here to check out Daughters of Eve's website


Where to watch...


5) The Prayer Box


With his sister suffering from a serious illness, a boy takes it upon himself to try and get God's attention in hopes that God will heal his sister. Click here to watch the preview now :)


Amazing, emotional, funny, and life changing mini series! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! 9/10!


Where to watch...


6) Little Men



"Based on the classic novel by Louisa May Alcott. Set in rural Massachusetts, the series chronicles the heroic struggles of Jo Bhaer (the Jo March character of Little Women) as she attempts to manage Plumfield, a boarding school for boys, after the tragic death of her husband Fritz." Click here to preview the show


This show is incredibly relaxing and something I love to watch at the end of a day, its not super christian but it does have some sweet God moments. I wasn't too thrilled at the end of the first season as it is goes in a really weird spiritual direction that doesn't align with God's word but I thought it was really great that at least it was pretty inclusive with all races of people. Overall I rate it a 7.5/10! Warning: Season 1 ends pretty weird -_-


Where to watch...


7) Hope Island



"A newly-ordained minister moves to a small island off the coast of Washington to take over a church that's sat empty for 30 years." (No video preview/trailer available)


This one I just recently found and I really dig it! The newly ordained minister, named Daniel, is kind of passive aggressive (lol so he fits right in with the Washington people), but I do like the show. It is pretty chill. Actors could be better but its not bad! I literally cried the first episode, like in a good way. Just give it a try, and see for yourself. I give it a 8/10!


Where to watch...


8) Sue Thomas FB Eye



"The true-life story of an FBI agent who overcomes adversity to bring notorious criminals to justice." Click here to preview the show


This show is so awesome because its based on a true story! I love it so much, and even though it is a bit lukewarm I enjoyed it. However, the episodes are a bit too long for my taste but that's probably because my generation has increasingly short attention spans. Acting could be better but its not the kind of acting that makes you want to rip your hair out and its very sweet and wholesome. 7/10 I recommend!


Where to watch...












 

Top 7 shows to watch on Pure Flix , Top 7 shows to watch on PureFlix , Great shows to watch on Amazon Prime , Wholesome entertainment , family tv , family shows , Christian shows , Christian tv , Best shows to watch on pure flix,Best shows to watch on PureFlix, Greatest shows to watch on Pureflix , Greatest Pureflix Shows , Best PureFlix series , Pure TV , TV for the whole family , TV shows for the whole family , TV shows for christians , Christ Like TV shows , Wholesome TV shows , Pure TV shows






















40 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page